What are the ground rules for divorce in New Jersey? Does fault matter anymore?

By Alison C. Leslie, Esq.
December 22, 2014

Fault matters when you’re coming down to dollars and cents, but the majority of divorces are filed under irreconcilable differences.

In order to have a complaint based on irreconcilable differences, those differences have to have existed for at least six months and caused the demise of the marriage; you and your spouse must have no chance of reconciling or getting back together. New Jersey’s no-fault is the most popular means of filing a divorce complaint. No-fault can also be filed after 18 months separation, which means you and your spouse have lived separate and apart for a period of 18 months.


Alison C. Leslie, Esq. practices family law exclusively in her Morristown, NJ offices, where she offers her clients the individualized attention of a solo practitioner with the experience of a larger firm. She can be reached at (973) 631-8002. View her website and Divorce Magazine profile.

Back To Top

By Alison C. Leslie, Esq.| December 22, 2014
Categories:  Legal Issues|FAQs

Add A Comment

Comment

Allowed HTML: <b>, <i>, <u>, <a>

Comments

Reason for your Divorce

Why did your relationship end? If there's more than one reason, choose the strongest factor.

Money Problems/Arguments
Physical/Emotional Infidelity
Physical/Mental Illness
Physical/Emotional Abuse
Alcoholism/Addiction Issues
Basic Incompatibility


Copyright © 2017 Divorce Magazine, Divorce Marketing Group & Segue Esprit Inc. All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without prior written permission is prohibited.